Shopping Cart
Quick view
Login
Search for products on our site
See more

FREE Shipping on Select Items $55+ & All Books Ship FREE!


            
                Load image into Gallery viewer, Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir

            
                Load image into Gallery viewer, Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir
On Sale

Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir

  • -$-32.00
  • Regular price $32.00
    ( / )
    Shipping calculated at checkout.
    Click here to be notified by email when Seeing Ghosts: A Memoir becomes available.

    by Kat Chow

     

    For readers of Helen Macdonald and Elizabeth Alexander, an intimate and haunting portrait of grief and the search for meaning from a singular new talent as told through the prism of three generations of her Chinese American family.


    Kat Chow has always been unusually fixated on death. She worried constantly about her parents dying---especially her mother. A vivacious and mischievous woman, Kat's mother made a morbid joke that would haunt her for years to come: when she died, she'd like to be stuffed and displayed in Kat's future apartment in order to always watch over her. 

    After her mother dies unexpectedly from cancer, Kat, her sisters, and their father are plunged into a debilitating, lonely grief. With a distinct voice that is wry and heartfelt, Kat weaves together a story of the fallout of grief that follows her extended family as they emigrate from China and Hong Kong to Cuba and America. Seeing Ghosts asks what it means to reclaim and tell your family’s story: Is writing an exorcism or is it its own form of preservation? The result is an extraordinary new contribution to the literature of the American family, and a provocative and transformative meditation on who we become facing loss.