Shopping Cart
Quick view
Login
Search for products on our site
See more

FREE Shipping on Select Items $55+ & All Books Ship FREE!


            
                Load image into Gallery viewer, What the Fireflies Knew: A Novel
On Sale

What the Fireflies Knew: A Novel

  • -$-30.00
  • Regular price $30.00
    ( / )
    Shipping calculated at checkout.
    Click here to be notified by email when What the Fireflies Knew: A Novel becomes available.

    by Kai Harris

    A Marie Claire Book Club pick

    Named A Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by *Marie Claire* Buzzfeed* Essence* Bookriot* Bookbub and more!

    “Harris rewrites the coming-of-age story with Black girlhood at the center.”
    New York Times Book Review

    In the vein of Jesmyn Ward's Salvage the Bones and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, a coming-of-age novel told by almost-eleven-year-old Kenyatta Bernice (KB), as she and her sister try to make sense of their new life with their estranged grandfather in the wake of their father's death and their mother's disappearance.

     
    An ode to Black girlhood and adolescence as seen through KB's eyes, What the Fireflies Knew follows KB after her father dies of an overdose and the debts incurred from his addiction cause the loss of the family home in Detroit. Soon thereafter, KB and her teenage sister, Nia, are sent by their overwhelmed mother to live with their estranged grandfather in Lansing, Michigan. Over the course of a single sweltering summer, KB attempts to navigate a world that has turned upside down.

    Her father has been labeled a fiend. Her mother's smile no longer reaches her eyes. Her sister, once her best friend, now feels like a stranger. Her grandfather is grumpy and silent. The white kids who live across the street are friendly, but only sometimes. And they're all keeping secrets. As KB vacillates between resentment, abandonment, and loneliness, she is forced to carve out a different identity for herself and find her own voice.

    A dazzling and moving novel about family, identity, and race, What the Fireflies Knew poignantly reveals that heartbreaking but necessary component of growing up--the realization that loved ones can be flawed and that the perfect family we all dream of looks different up close.